I was recently given the opportunity to try Whole Black Mustard Seeds from Jiva Organics for free! woo hoo! I love making homemade sauces, mustards, dressings and stuff. It gives me a chance to put my own spin on my favorite foods, and when I make it myself, I know exactly what’s going into it!

I ordered this on Amazon, and it came to me quickly, in a really good-sized 7 oz. bag, that costs only $6.95. You can buy it HERE.

mustardseeds

The word “Jiva” means life. At Jiva Organics, we are a small family business driven by care and respect for life – be it people or the environment around us

I immediately looked for recipes online that I could use this with. I also talked to my dad, and found out that he uses whole mustard seeds in his homemade venison summer sausage, so I gave him some to use. I can’t wait to try his next batch of sausage, but until then, here are the recipes I found (or links to them):

 How to make Homemade Mustard
 Mustard Manual

Whole-Grain Mustard

Makes 1 cup

Make today, enjoy in 1 to 4 days

1/2      cup cider vinegar

1/4      cup yellow mustard seeds

1/4      cup brown mustard seeds

1/4      cup beer

2          teaspoons packed light brown sugar

3/4      teaspoon salt

1. Combine vinegar, mustard seeds, and beer in medium bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and let stand at room temperature for at least 8 hours or up to 2 days.

2. Process soaked mustard seeds with sugar and salt in food processor until coarsely ground and thickened, about 1 minute, scraping down bowl as needed.

3. Transfer mustard to jar with tight-fitting lid and let stand at room temperature until it achieves desired spiciness, 1 to 2 days. Transfer to refrigerator. Mustard can be refrigerated for up to 3 months.

Get out there, buy some mustard seeds (remember, the darker the seed, the spicier the mustard), and start experimenting!

As always, Stay Beautiful & Think Divergently!

~Rachelle

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

