So, this is the place where I can be completely honest, right? 😀 Okay, thank goodness. And…my boyfriend isn’t around??..Okay, I’ll let you in on a little secret:

…I don’t exactly love beards on my man…or any man, really. Sure, some guys just wouldn’t look the same without their signature facial hair…and there’s something to be said for a clean-cut patch of man-scruff 😉 The thing is…facial hair is really itchy. I don’t know what it’s like for a man, but for me…it’s like tiny little needle piercing into my cheek…or my neck..or through my t-shirt onto my shoulders and back when we cuddle. I have been told I’m strange, but I simply don’t like this feeling.

But, back in November, I met the most amazing man. I adored everything about him…except for his facial hair. But he loves his facial hair, because it’s a part of him – and because he tends to get ‘carded’ a lot less, because he looks a bit older. (Before a man turns 25, that means a lot!) I learned that beard oil and other conditioning products were available for mens’ facial hair, so I jumped at the chance for him to try these out!

beardoil1First, let’s talk about the Temperance Bear Oil. It comes in the coolest little metal flask. The idea behind the metal flask, rather than a glass bottle, like some other products, is that it can be carried around in one’s pocket without worry that it may break in his pocket without worry of broken glass. The flask design is also rather ‘manly’…my boyfriend agrees!

According to the company: “This unscented beard oil is built to provide health and shine to your beard without adding any additional scent. This makes Temperance Beard Oil a perfect beard oil for those that hunt, those with allergies (or are around those with allergies), those that don’t want their beard oil to compete with their cologne, or anyone else that for whatever reason simply wants a craft made beard oil without a scent. The virtue of Temperance is knowing when less is more. The base oil was designed with excellent ingredients to help your beard look great and maintain its health. Beard oils are blended and bottled by hand and are made with olive oil, grapeseed oil, apricot oil, jojoba, argan and vitamin E. The attention to detail extends to the labeling which is both waterproof and oil-proof.”

I LOVE the fact that this particular beard oil is unscented. We tried another brand, and I SWEAR his beard smelled like pickles :/. Not exactly appealing! lol This also makes his beard so much softer. No more pokeys through my t-shirts…you have no clue what this has done for our relationship – I don’t pull away anymore because he’s ‘too scratchy’! That’s motivation enough for him to keep using it!

Now, on to the Beard Oil Brush…So cute! haha this came in a super handy tin..so if you’re travelling with this, you don’t have to worry about the brush bristles getting beard oil all over the rest of your stuff. It’s got a nice wooden handle that’s branded with the CanYouHandlebar Question Mark, and it has horse hair bristles that don’t easily fall out of the brush. The brush was specifically selected to work with Beard Dry Oil (balm) Cans, as well as traditional beard oils. The bristles do a great job of penetrating through the beard to massage the oil all the way to the skin, as well as to tame those unruly hairs, to get the beard just the way he wants it. I just love that he keeps using it, without reminders from me! What man wouldn’t spend a few minutes a day to get more kisses? 😀beardoilbrush

You can by the beard oil for only $24.99 here:CanYouHandlebar Temperance Beard Oil 1 OZ Mini Flask: Unscented and All Natural
and the beard oil brush for only $19.99 here:CanYouHandlebar Beard Oil Brush: Hand-Branded Wooden Handle with Naturally Soft Horse Hair, For Dry or Wet Beards

I recommend this to any man who’s trying to grow a new beard, who’s in the mid-stages of growth, or who has a well-established beard! It’s great for anyone!

As Always, Stay Beautiful & Think Divergently

~Rachelle

I received this beard oil and brush for the purpose of my review, but my opinions are 100% my own, and based on MY personal use. I was not told what to say, only asked to give an honest review based on my own experience with the product.

