Hi again! Today I want to talk about an activity that makes both my dog and I anxious – toenail clipping! From getting the dog calmed down enough to let me mess with her feet, to making sure that I don’t cut down too far and end up with a bloody mess and an upset dog, there’s a lot to think about!
petclippers2Lucky for us, Paw 2 Paw makes this amazing set of nail clippers for pets! They’re great for cats and dogs, but I just use them for my dog, Yoshi, so I’ll talk about that. Yoshi is a very sweet and submissive pup, so getting her to lie down and be still for toenail clippings is pretty easy. If you have a dog that gets nervous about these type of things, or are worried about it staying, just get someone to distract the dog to help you out.

The next step should be to take a look at your dog’s toenails, and try to identify the quick. Justdog_toenail_trimming like your own fingernails, your dog’s nails should change color slightly at this point of the nail. I found a really helpful diagram on Outlaw Chinooks that can help you to identify the quick, and show you how to, over time, shorten the quick itself so that you can trim the nails to the proper length.

petclippers2These clippers made trimming Yoshi’s toenails so easy! They’re spring-loaded, so that clipping is quick and easy, super-sharp, to prevent breakage, PLUS there is a guard plate right behind the clippers, so that you can only cut off a little bit at a time. This is great for squirmy dogs! Add in the little nail file that stores in the handle, and you’re ready for anything!

If, for some reason, you cut your pet’s toenail into the quick, it’s going to bleed…probably a lot. A styptic pen can be used to help the blood clot, or a first-aid wrap. If you do clip a bit too far, don’t worry, it will heal fairly quickly, and your pet won’t hold it against you!

You should check out these clippers on Amazon here:Dog Clippers – Professional Dog Nail Grooming Clippers for Large Breed Dogs By Paw2paw

As Always, Stay Beautiful & Think Divergently!

~Rachelle

I received these pet toenail clippers for the purpose of my review, but my opinions are 100% my own, and based on MY personal use. I was not told what to say, only asked to give an honest review based on my own experience with the product.

